a pair of doubles ruled out for hitting a ball boy in the head

By Gilles Festor



The referee comes to talk to the teenager who took a bullet in the head. Francetvsports.

THE SCAN SPORT The pair Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi were disqualified in the third round of Roland-Garros for unintentionally throwing a ball in the head of a young ball boy.

Dura lex, sed lex (the law is hard but it is the law). The pair Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi opposed to the duo Bouzkova-Sorribes Tormo in the women’s doubles table this Sunday were excluded from the round of 16 after a rare incident. In the middle of the second set, the Japanese Miyu Kato wanted to put the ball back on the other side of the court with a stroke of the racket without looking precisely where she was aiming. Big mistake, because if she had no intention of targeting anyone, the ball landed in the opposite corner of the court…into the head of a ball boy.

The player first received a warning before her opponents intervened with the referee. The Bouzkova-Sorribes Tormo duo went to alert the latter to the state of the crying teenager. The latter, after having minimized the incident on the pretext that the picker ” wasn’t hurt “, logically reviewed its position. He agreed to get down from his chair to go talk to the teenager.

Read alsoRoland-Garros 2023: “It’s stupid”, the players irritated by the many resale places for the first women’s night session

Embarred, Miyu Kato then came to apologize to the latter, uring her that she had obviously not sent the bullet to her head on purpose. After consultation between the referee and a supervisor, the sentence fell: an exclusion on the field of Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi, leaving Kato alone with his mistake, inconsolable and in turn in tears on the field.

“data-script=”https://static.lefigaro.fr/widget-video/short-ttl/video/index.js” >

Source link

Leave a Reply