Alaphilippe finishes second in the 4th stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico behind Roglic

Alaphilippe finishes second in the 4th stage of the Tirreno-Adriatico behind Roglic

Julian Alaphilippe. MARCO BERTORELLO / AFP

The French lost in a small sprint in a small committee. Filippo Gana also gives up his leader’s tunic.

He didn’t go far. Julian Alaphilippe (Soudal-Quick Step) finished second in the fourth stage of Tirreno-Adriatico between Greccio and Tortoreto, this Thursday afternoon. The Frenchman was overtaken – in a small committee sprint – by the Slovenian Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma). The Briton Adam Yates (UAE Team Emirates) completes the podium. In the general classification, the German Lennard Kämna (Bora-Hansgrohe) takes advantage of the failure in the last climb of the day of Filippo Ganna (Ineos Grenadiers) to seize the leader’s tunic. Primoz Roglic (Jumbo-Visma) is in second position (6”); Portuguese Joao Almeida (UAE Team Emirates) is third (8”).

A lively end to the stage

If he had to bow on the line, Julian Alaphilippe animated the end of this fourth stage of the race. The Soudal-Quick Step runner launched a sharp offensive – as he has the secret – 35 kilometers from the finish, in the penultimate climb of the day. An attack which had the merit of cleaning up the peloton. The one who won the Faun-Ardèche Classic just over ten days ago thus confirms that he is in great shape as the classics season approaches. The last kilometers were also marked by the fall of Wout Van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and Tom Pid**** (Ineos Grenadiers), fortunately without gravity. This Friday, the riders will have a lot to do with a mountain stage which will end in Sarnano Sassotetto, at the end of a 13 km climb at 7.3%.

The classification of the 4th stage:

1. Primoz Roglic (SLO / JUM) the 218.0 km in 5h00:04.

(average: 43.6 km/h)

2. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA/QST)

3. Adam Yates (GBR/UAE)

4. Wilco Kelderman (NED/JUM)

5. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR/INE)

6. Enric Mas (ESP/MOV)

7. Victor Lafay (FRA/COF)

8. João Almeida (POR/UAE)

9. Alexander Vlasov (RUS/BOR)

10. Hugh Carthy (GBR/EF1) all at the same time

The general classification after four stages:

1. Lennard Kamna (GER / Bora) 3:38:46 p.m.

2. Primoz Roglic (SLO / JUM) at 6.

3. João Almeida (POR/UAE) 8.

4. Brandon McNulty (USA/UAE) 13.

5. Wilco Kelderman (NED/JUM) 15.

6. Alexander Vlasov (RUS/BOR) 17.

7. Jai Hindley (AUS/BOR) 18.

8. Tao Geoghegan Hart (GBR/INE) 19.

9. Giulio Ciccone (ITA/TRE) 26.

10. Enric Mas (ESP/MOV) 27.

Source link

Leave a Reply