elected best player in the Top 14, Antoine Dupont wins (again)

By David Reyrat

Published ,

Antoine Dupont at the Stade de France on June 17, 2023 after the coronation of Stade Toulousain. Federico Pestellini / Federico Pestellini / Panoramic

The scrum half from Stade Toulousain and the XV of France was elected by his peers as the best player in the Top 14 and best French international for the 2022-2023 season.

Always stronger. Antoine Dupont won both distinctions the most prestigious during the 19e edition of Rugby Night, Monday evening at the Olympia: best player in the Top 14 and best French international. A double coronation which represents recognition from his peers since it was the approximately 600 professional players who voted for him.

The scrum half from Toulouse and the XV of France is ahead of Rochelais Grégory Alldritt and Bayonnais Camille Lopez for the first award; Alldritt again and Damian Penaud for the second.

Read alsoTop 14: the nominees for Rugby Night revealed

And as, decidedly, nothing can resist the future star of the 7 of France, the captain of the Blues makes the history of this ceremony by becoming the first player to win this distinction as best player in the Top 14 twice (2021 and 2023). He who, in 2017, won the trophy for best revelation.

Le Palois Gailleton revelation of the season

The center of the Paloise Section, Émilien Gailleton, who honored his first selections this summer, was elected revelation of the 2022-2023 season. An exercise that he completed as the top try scorer in the Top 14 (14). However, the young man was unable to be present at the Olympia to receive his prize, blocked by the air traffic controllers’ strike.

On the Pro D2 side, the champion and promoted, Oyonnax, also does a double blow by landing the best player – international pillar Thomas Laclayat, now at Racing 92 – and the best staff.

Finally, the best try of the 2022-2023 Top 14 season, chosen by Internet users, was attributed to Romain Ntamack for his decisive raid in the Top 14 final which offered the title down to the wire at Stade Toulousain against at Stade Rochelais. A little relief for the opener, currently in rehabilitation after the serious knee injury he suffered last August.

The results of the 19th Night of Rugby:

Best player in the Top 14 : Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)
Best Pro D2 player : Thomas Laclayat (Oyonnax, then Racing 92)
Best staff of the Top 14 : Toulouse (Mola, Bouilhou, Poitrenaud, Thuery)
Best Pro D2 staff : Oyonnax (El Abd, Cibray, Codling, Debaty)
Revelation of the year : Émilien Gailleton (Pau)
Best French international player : Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)
Best French international player : Gabrielle Vernier (Blagnac)
Referee of the year : Mathieu Raynal
Best Supersevens Player : Esteban Capilla (Bayonne)
Best try : Romain Ntamack (Toulouse) against La Rochelle in the Top 14 final.

The complete list of the best players in the Top 14:

2004: Manny Edmonds (Perpignan)
2005: Yannick Jauzion (Toulouse)
2006: Rupeni Caucaunibuca (Agen)
2007: Juan Martin Hernandez (Stade Français Paris)
2008: Byron Kelleher (Toulouse)
2009: Napolioni Nalaga (Clermont)
2010: Morgan Parra (Clermont)
2011: François Trinh-Duc (Montpellier)
2012: Chris Masoe (Castres)
2013: Rory Kockott (Castres)
2014: Matt Giteau (Toulon)
2015: Sergio Parisse (Stade Français Paris)
2016: Johan Goosen (Racing 92)
2017: Victor Vito (Stade Rochelais)
2018: Benjamin Botica (Oyonnax)
2019: Cheslin Kolbe (Toulouse)
2020: no trophy
2021: Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)
2022: Zach Mercer (Montpellier)
2023: Antoine Dupont (Toulouse)

Source link

Leave a Reply