Formula 1: drivers classification

Formula 1: drivers classification

Formula 1 world champion Max Verstappen and his wife Kelly at the FIA ​​awards ceremony in Bologna, Italy, December 9, 2022. FREDERIC LE FLOC H / PANORAMIC

The driver classification for the 2023 Formula 1 world championship. Double reigning champion, Max Verstappen is already in the lead.

Since the 2019 season, the driver classification has been established as follows: 25 points for the winner, 18 for the second, 15 for the third, then 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1 unit for the 10th of each grand prize. It is therefore imperative to finish in the Top 10 to score in the championship.

In addition to this, the author of the fastest lap in the race scores an additional point, provided that he finishes in the Top 10. This sometimes explains why drivers return to the pits in the last laps – when they have no more nothing to fear or hope for in terms of classification – to put on new tyres, or cooler at the end of the race.

Six sprint races in 2023

And in 2023, there will be six sprint races held over the weekends in Azerbaijan, Austria, Belgium, Qatar, USA (Austin) and Brazil. That is to say events in a shorter format, so with fewer laps to complete. The first will pocket 8 points, the second 7, then 6, 5, 4, 3, 2 and 1 for the 8th and last classified.

The 2023 drivers ranking

Source link

Leave a Reply