Juventus awarded 15 penalty points for transfer fraud

Juventus awarded 15 penalty points for transfer fraud

It is a blow from which Juventus will find it difficult to recover. The Old Lady was sanctioned Friday evening by the Court of Appeal of the Italian Federation (FIGC). The club received 15 penalty points in Serie A due to accounting fraud found during player transfers between 2018 and 2021.

Juve had been acquitted along with ten other clubs in this case in the spring of 2022, but the Federation Court of Appeal accepted the federal prosecutor’s request to reopen the case. This choice was motivated by elements transmitted by the Italian justice system which is also investigating the accounts of the Italian club, according to a press release from the Federation.

Eleven leaders sentenced

A total of eleven leaders are suspended, indicates the press release of the Italian Federation, including former president Andrea Agnelli, who is banned from practicing for a period of two years. Fabio Paratici, sports director of Tottenham and passed by Juve, received a ban of thirty months. Pavel Nedved, meanwhile, received an eight-month sanction. The FIGC has requested an extension of the sanctions to UEFA and FIFA, which currently only apply in Italy.

The entire management had decided to resign on November 28. The fault of very substantial financial problems. The club lost 255 million euros last season, a record deficit in Italian football. A situation which led Exor, the holding company of the Agnelli family controlling the majority of Juve, to enthrone Gianluca Ferrero as president.

Juve drop to 11th place

This withdrawal of points completely changes the season of the Turinese. Initially third, Massimiliano Allegri’s men will be demoted to 11th place in Serie A, 12 points from 6th place synonymous with European qualification.

The court upheld the acquittal of the other eight clubs involved (Sampdoria, Pro Vercelli, Genoa, Parma, Pisa, Empoli, Novara and Pescara) and their respective managers.

The Bianconeri have the option of appealing to the CONI (Italian Olympic Committee) Guarantee Tribunal.

Source link