Mancini names 29 players to face England and Hungary

Italy coach Roberto Mancini called up 29 players on Friday for the last two Nations League matches against England and Hungary, a list without Lorenzo Insigne or Federico Bernardeschi, who left for Toronto this summer.

Lazio Rome striker Ciro Immobile, absent from international matches in June due to injury, returns to the selection for the first time since the fiasco of the elimination in the 2022 World Cup against North Macedonia (0-1) in March.

Absent, however, are AS Roma striker Nicolo Zaniolo, back from a shoulder injury, Giallorossi full-back Leonardo Spinazzola as well as European champions Lorenzo Insigne and Federico Bernardeschi, who left the club this summer. Serie A for the North American Championship.

In this list are three new ones: goalkeepers Ivan Provedel (Lazio Rome) and Guglielmo Vicario (Empoli) as well as Salernitana defender Pasquale Mazzocchi.

Italy will host England on September 23 in Milan and then travel on the final day to Hungary on Monday 26.

With one win, two draws and one defeat (5 points), the Nazionale is currently third in its pool behind Hungary (7 pts) and Germany (6 pts) and can still mathematically qualify for the Final Four.

The Italian selection:

Guardians: Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris-SG / FRA), Alex Meret (Naples), Ivan Provedel (Lazio Rome), Guglielmo Vicario (Empoli)

Defenders: Francesco Acerbi (Inter Milan), Alessandro Bastoni (Inter Milan), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Giovanni Di Lorenzo (Naples), Federico Dimarco (Inter Milan), Emerson Palmieri (West Ham/ENG), Federico Gatti (Juventus), Luiz Felipe (Betis Sevilla/ESP), Pasquale Mazzocchi (Salernitana), Rafael Toloi (Atalanta)

Environments: Nicolò Barella (Inter Milan), Bryan Cristante (AS Roma), Jorginho (Chelsea / ENG), Lorenzo Pellegrini (AS Roma), Tommaso Pobega (AC Milan), Sandro Tonali (AC Milan), Marco Verratti (Paris-SG / ENG),

Attackers: Matteo Cancellieri (Lazio Rome), Wilfried Gnonto (Leeds / ENG), Vincenzo Grifo (Freiburg / GER), Ciro Immobile (Lazio Rome), Matteo Politano (Naples), Giacomo Raspadori (Naples), Gianluca Scamacca (West Ham / ENG ), Alessio Zerbin (Naples)

Source link